See Contact for address details.

The University of Sydney (Headquarters)

The Australian Centre for Microscopy & Microanalysis, a research and teaching centre in microscopy, is the first and one of the most comprehensive facilities of its type in Australia. It is also a node of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Design in Light Metals.

The centre's laboratories are world-class and offer researchers and students access to the complete environment needed for modern advanced characterisation. Features include specimen preparation laboratories for materials science, surface science, biological science and live-cell imaging; nearly 30 instruments; and computational studios for image visualisation, simulation and analysis. These facilities are supported by a large team of technical and research staff.

Director: Prof. Simon P. Ringer

The University of Queensland

The Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis (CMM) is an interdisciplinary research, teaching and service centre, which also plays an integral role within the science programs of the University of Queensland, participating in undergraduate and postgraduate education.

The role of the CMM is to promote, support and initiate research and teaching in the applications of microscopy and microanalysis, as well as to develop the discipline of microscopy and microanalysis itself. Within the University of Queensland, this brief requires involvement with the research and teaching programs of faculties and institutes such as the Biological and Chemical Sciences Faculty; the Health Sciences Faculty; Natural Resources; the Agriculture and Veterinary Science Faculty; Engineering; the Physical Sciences and Architecture Faculty; the Institute of Molecular Bioscience; and the Australian Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology.

Director: Prof. John Drennan

The University of Western Australia

The Centre for Microscopy, Characterisation and Analysis (CMCA) is an internationally recognised core facility for electron, ion and light imaging and microanalysis that supports the research activities of the University of Western Australia and provides a focal point for microscopy in Western Australia. The CMCA isalso a partner in the Nanoscale Characterisation Centre, WA (NCC).

The Centre's mission is to facilitate the conduct of world-class, high-impact research through the provision of internationally benchmarked research expertise and facilities in microscopy, microanalysis and imaging. Through its 12 academic staff, the Centre conducts its own research programs as well as pro-actively engaging in interdisciplinary research collaborations, which span the natural, agricultural, physical, life and biomedical sciences, and engineering.

Director: Prof. David Sampson

The University of New South Wales

The Electron Microscope Unit (EMU) is a centralised research, teaching and service unit that plays a critical role in supporting the research programs at the University of New South Wales.

The Unit is located within the University's Analytical Centre, which also encompasses mass spectrometry, nuclear magnetic resonance and solid-state and chemical analysis. The Centre operates within the division of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research). The EMU currently contains 15 frontline instruments and has a similar number of staff.

Director: Prof. Paul Munroe

The Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) is Australia's largest and most diverse postgraduate research university. Its Centre for Advanced Microscopy caters for a broad range of pure and applied research in topics covering materials science to physiology to earth resources and supports a similarly wide range of undergraduate teaching disciplines.

By having a primary focus on novel research, the ANU conceives and engineers many scientific tools and techniques. A strength of the Centre is the capability to key into these areas of research by providing access to its expert staff and diverse facilities.

Director: Prof. Tim White

South Australian Regional Facility (SARF)

The SARF is an alliance of laboratories at the three SA-based universities, which aims to provide researchers with ready access to a wide range of major instrumentation locally and nationally. The Facility offers analytical support to diverse researchers from materials science to biology, in academia and industry. Facility staff are also actively engaged in advanced research and in the development of novel analytical methodologies.

The Facility operates as a distributed network. Seamless access to participating laboratories and instrumentation and to analytical support are provided, regardless of affiliation. Its laboratories are:

Adelaide Microscopy, which is the University of Adelaide's centre for advanced microscopy and microanalysis. Its main strengths are in electron, optical, scanned-laser, and X-ray microscopies, and in electron-beam microanalysis. Laser-ablation ICPMS and laser micro-dissection are also available.

Flinders Microscopy, which contributes core expertise in scanning probe and optical microscopy methods and instrumentation, as well as other methods such as matrix-assisted laser desorption/ ionisation mass spectrometry (MALDI-MS).

The Ian Wark Research Institute at the University of South Australia, which focuses on surface-analysis techniques for materials, nanoparticles and biological samples. A wide range of instrumentation for surface analysis is available; the time-of-flight secondary-ion mass spectrometers are a unique capability within the AMMRF.

SARF Node Director: Prof. Hans Griesser

AMMRF Founding Nodes
AMMRF Founding Nodes Logos
Link to The University of Sydney node Link to the University of Queensland node Link to the University of Western Australia node Link to the University of New South Wales node Link to the Australian National Universty node Link to the South Australian Regional Facility node